The American Messenger
Home      In The News      In The News 2      Arts & Entertainment      Rants & Raves      Opinion      Links / Contact     


- Music We Recommend -

Buck Owens 

Buck Owens - Country Singer's Prayer (Release Date: August 17, 2018)
Omnivore Recordings, in conjunction with the Buck Owens Estate, is proud to present Country Singer’s Prayer—Buck Owens final Capitol album from 1975 that has remained unreleased until now. By late 1975, Buck’s unequaled success at Capitol records was finally winding down. His singles were no longer topping the charts, and after the death of Don Rich the year before, Buck was starting to lose the fire that drove him through an unprecedented run of groundbreaking hits in the ’60s and early ’70s. His contract with Capitol was due to expire at the end of the year, and he and The Buckaroos readied one final album for them in November 1975. While several of Buck’s later Capitol records had not been topping the charts as before, his last single for them, “Country Singer’s Prayer,” failed to even make a showing in the charts. Likely due to the indifference shown to that last single, the decision was made to shelf this final album, and assign the selection number to what was ultimately Buck’s last Capitol album, Best Of Buck Owens, Vol. 6 that did include his last two singles originally intended for this final album: “Battle Of New Orleans,” and the title track. While Buck did revisit some of these songs with producer Norro Wilson in Nashville after signing to Warner Bros. Records, these original recordings produced at Buck’s Bakersfield studio with The Buckaroos remained in the vault. This album is finally seeing the light of day, taken from the original LP master tapes, in what was the intended sequence. Also included are the b-sides to Buck’s final two singles from the unissued album. Including new liner notes by Scott B. Bomar featuring interviews with the co-writers of “Country Singer’s Prayer” longtime Buckaroos piano player Jim Shaw and R.J. Jones (aka Rocky Topp), this is a fascinating chance to experience Buck’s last intended Capitol album.
Track Listing:
1. John Law
2. Love Don't Make The Bars
3. He Ain't Been Out Bowling With The Boys
4. Drifting Away
5. The Battle Of New Orleans
6. Country Singer's Prayer
7. California Okie
8. A Different Kind Of Sad
9. It's Been A Long, Long Time
10. How's Everything
11. Run Him To The Round House Nellie (You Might Corner Him There)
12. Meanwhile Back At The Ranch



Your Ad Here: Click Here To Contact Us!

- Books We Recommend -

Liars, Leakers, and Liberals

Liars, Leakers, and Liberals: The Case Against the Anti-Trump Conspiracy 
by Judge Jeanine Pirro
As host of her own show on Fox for many years, Judge Jeanine Pirro has seen firsthand how narratives take form, whether they are based in truth or not. In her explosive new book, she will write about some of the most egregious lies she's seen, and take on the Liars, Leakers, and Liberals.


Advertise with us! re: Advertising Info.